First sights

Hi all,

I think it’s time for the first post from Israel. Let me start with the usual conversation starters.

Weather

The sun is out from maybe early 530 am to a decently late 830 pm in the evening. With the desert in the vicinity, you can imagine the effect of the magnificent Sol in the temperatures here. Coming from Vellore , it is not as hot, but, I do mean really “but….”, tomorrow we are going to the Dead sea and the surrounding areas, and things should get pretty hot tomorrow.

Most of my day is spent inside in the a/c classrooms and hence I don’t feel the heat.

20140701-DSC_0126

People

I haven’t had a chance to interact much with the local people here but whomever I have met in the student community (Israelis),they are wonderful hosts and really sweet people. They are mostly physically fit people and it is difficult to find scrawny human beings in the campus. I think that is the effect of the ecosystem in the campus and when I go to the community as part of my practicum, I shall be more knowledgeable and shall enlighten you folks. I shall soon shoot them and present them to you. It is holiday time here and there are many summer festivals here in the city. Families come in droves in the cool There was one yesterday that I attended and here are a few images.

20140702-DSC_0142

20140702-DSC_0182

20140702-DSC_0166

Food

They eat quite a lot (maybe got to do with their physical fitness levels) and there is a nice buffet canteen where I eat lunch mostly. A good hot meal of rice, different combinations of vegetables (boiled and as in salads) and a side of meat(chicken/beef/turkey/fish) costs about 24.5 Shekels. I shall post the images later. I haven’t tried hummus or falafel or shawarma here though. (I have eaten falafel in Rome and shawarma at home , let’s see how different things are)

Clothing

It is hot and hence, let me put it this way, people don’t bother with clothes much. No offence meant but, both men and women, dress very casually (unless they are professors / executives / janitors /policemen). The “inner” in inner wear doesn’t hold true, for men and women. Coming from a country where it is hot everyone is covered top to bottom, it is a fresh breeze blowing here. Plus, women are really fashionable here , in the campus and outside, and you can see Zara/Gucci/Louis Votton/ etc, etc very often in the streets.

Cars

This may not appeal to many of the folks here but I do like to notice the cars in the places I go. I wanted to write about Srilankan cars but never got about to it and hence I shall fulfil my wishes here. BMW, Audi, Hyundai, Mazda, Ford, Subaru, Nissan, Volvo, Toyota and surprise, surprise The Suzuki Alto (and a Ritz model called Splash) rule the roads here. Most are sleek and modern and have a fluidic design.

Anything else you want me to add?

2 comments

  1. johnrush5 · July 4, 2014

    Awesome post! It’s always interesting to see how different our planet can be in different areas. I’m interested to know if the schwarmas and falafel there is much better then here because it is authentic!

    Ps. great photos they were very visually striking

    Safe travels

    John

    • georgiemathew · July 7, 2014

      Thanks John.. I have tried shawarma at one place only so far. Probably by the end of the trip, I’ll be good enough to write a post on those 🙂

Leave a Reply

